Thursday, February 19, 2009

Facebook revert back to old policies

Facebook
Facebook, leading social networking site around the globe, revert back to its old same user policies after feedback from millions of users. Earlier, Facebook changed its some user policies but it is found that most of the users are against the new policies. The website posted a message to the user's home page regarding the old users policies. In the message, it is mentioned that it was returning to its previous "Terms of Use" policy "while we resolve the issues that people have raised. Terms of use decides that details what the site's owners can do with the information that users provide. Facebook allows millions of users to create their profile where they can then connect with one another, upload photos and share links. The site boasts more than 150 million active users. The website deleted a sentence from the old user's policies. That sentence said Facebook could not claim any rights to original content that a user uploaded once the user closed his or her account. But after the overwhelming response from millions of users around the globe against the new policies, it is replaced it with: "You may remove your User Content from the Site at any time..however, you acknowledge that the Company may retain archived copies of your User Content." Thousands of users has canceled their account. Moreover, Among them were more than 64,000 who joined a group called "The People Against the new Terms of Service." The company, in its post Wednesday, said it was returning to its previous Terms of Use because of the "feedback" it had received. Company spokesman Barry Schnitt said that the company is in the process of rewording its Terms of Use in "simple language that defines Facebook's rights much more specifically."

No comments: